Regional Manager Correspondence

Prior to our letter/email to Jonathan Browning, President and CEO of Volkswagen Group of America, Inc., we had been corresponding with Darrell Z, Regional Case Manager.

For your enjoyment, here is some his useless emails…

From: “VWoA Customer CARE” <VWCustomerCARE@vw.com>
Date: Mon, 18 Apr 2011 14:25:23 -0400
Subject: Volkswagen Customer CARE Case

Thank you for speaking with me regarding the recent repairs for your Jetta.  In follow-up to my most recent phone conversation with your wife, I am e-mailing you to advise of our current position on this matter.

Allow me to first apologize for the extensive inconvenience you’ve experienced as a result of the concerns with your car, as well as the length of time for your most recent repair.  Sonnen Motorcars will be replacing your cylinder head, and we are confident this will address the issue.  In appreciation of your loyalty to the Volkswagen family and patience throughout this situation, Volkswagen will cover 100% of the costs associated with this repair.  In communicating with Kevin Johnson, the Service Manager at the dealer, I understand that your repairs are scheduled to be completed by the end of this week.

Volkswagen of America will also have a $1,000 Customer Loyalty Certificate on file for you upon your return from Africa.  The certificate can be used as part or all of a down payment towards the purchase or lease of any new Volkswagen product.

I look forward to seeing your car repaired, so you can begin enjoying the fun and efficiency the Jetta TDI was built to deliver.  I will contact you again on April 27th to confirm your concerns are completely resolved.

If I may be of further assistance regarding this, or any other matter, please don’t hesitate to contact me again by e-mail reply or through our Customer CARE Center at (800) 822-8987.

Sincerely,

Darrell Z.

Regional Case Manager

From: “VWoA Customer CARE” <VWCustomerCARE@vw.com>
Date: Fri, 29 Apr 2011 15:59:23 -0400

Thank you for your patience as Sonnen Motorcars continues to address the engine concerns you are experiencing with your Jetta.

I apologize for the time it has taken to address these concerns.  I am happy to consider your requests; however, I will not be able to provide any decisions until we know when your Jetta will be fixed.  We are having more engineers looking into this concern and I am waiting to hear back from them on the status of the repairs.  I will follow up with you via e-mail by this coming Friday, May 6th with another update.  I will do what I can to turn this experience into a positive one for you.

If I may be of further assistance regarding this, or any other matter, please don’t hesitate to contact me again by e-mail atwww.vw.com or through our Customer CARE Center at (800) 822-8987.  If I am not available, one of my colleagues will be able to assist you.

Sincerely,

Darrell Z.

Regional Case Manager

From: “VWoA Customer CARE” <VWCustomerCARE@vw.com>
Date: Fri, 13 May 2011 20:55:59 -0400

Thank you for your continued patience as Sonnen Motorcars is still evaluating the situation regarding the engine concerns you are experiencing with your Jetta.

Again, I apologize for the extensive time it has taken to resolve your concerns.  The dealership will be performing additional testing and repairs next week.  It is my intention to follow up with you by Monday, May 23.  If I have information prior to that date, I will be in contact with you sooner.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me again by e-mail.  I am grateful for your patience while I research your concerns and follow up with the dealer.

Sincerely,

Darrell Z.

Regional Case Manager

From: “VWoA Customer CARE” <VWCustomerCARE@vw.com>
Date: Tue, 17 May 2011 16:11:14 -0400

I apologize for the length of time since you first contacted us.  I have been following up with the dealer regularly and informing you of your case’s standing as promised.  Your concerns have been discussed at length with members of Volkswagen’s leadership team at CCC and in the field.  I am obligated to wait until your vehicle’s repairs are completed before a decision can be rendered regarding your wish for compensation.

If you would like to contact the CEO of Volkswagen of America, his name is Jonathan Browning.  You can send him a letter at the following address:

Volkswagen Group of America

2200 Ferdinand Porsche Drive

Herndon, VA 20171

Again, I apologize for the length of time the repairs are taking for your vehicle.  Please know it is my wish to get you a final answer ASAP.

I will continue to monitor the progress of your vehicle and follow up with you no later than Monday, May 23.

Sincerely,

Darrell Z.

Customer CARE Advocate

From: “VWoA Customer CARE” <VWCustomerCARE@vw.com>
Date: May 23, 2011 1:21:37 PM PDT

Again, thank you for your patience while I continue to remain in contact with Sonnen Motorcars regarding the engine concerns with your Jetta.
I spoke with the dealership today, and they let me know they have replaced four injectors on your vehicle.  I apologize, but there is still black smoke emerging from the tailpipe of your car.  Sonnen Motorcars has informed me they are continuing to work with Volkswagen engineers to reach a solution for the concern with your Jetta.  I will remain in contact with the dealer during this process and follow up with you no later than Tuesday, May 31.  If I learn of any new developments prior to that date, I will be in touch with you sooner.
Again, I apologize for the amount of time it is taking to diagnose and repair this concern with your vehicle.  I am grateful for your continued patience.  If you have any questions between now and May 31, please feel free to reply to this e-mail. 
Sincerely,
Darrell Z.
Regional Case Manager

About vwcomplaints

Thinking about buying a VW? You might want to read this blog and think twice... My family has been a loyal VW customer since 1979, but not anymore.
This entry was posted in browning, CEO, jetta, jetta tdi, jonathan, jonathan browning, President, Uncategorized, volkswagen, vw and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Regional Manager Correspondence

  1. Peter Johnson says:

    I have a 2007 Wolfsburg Passat, which had its Electronic Parking Brake switch go bad at around 36,000 miles. At 39,000 miles, the dealer recommended replacing the tires (Goodyear Eagle trash), the rear brake pads, and the rear rotors!?!?! I was, inconveniently, and unfortunately, unemployed at the time, and unable to oblige. Now I am at 48,000 miles. I have replaced the tires quite some time ago, and the rear brakes are grinding. I conclude that the only way that REAR brakes can wear out is from this Emergency Brake Switch defect, and felt it should be covered by Volkswagen. OF COURSE, they concluded otherwise. Of course, they didn’t really come up with an explanation, except that they’re worn out. I’ve never replaced brake pads, let alone rotors, on ANY car, at this low mileage. Only the dealer seemed to think it was necessary. Any other garage I called laughed and asked if I drove around with the parking brake engaged, which is impossible, and all of these service garages and mechanics were appalled that VW refuses to admit there’s a defect, especially when my front brakes are in nearly perfect condition, and my mileage is so low. I guess they’re not used to customers who generally service their vehicles themselves, and happen to know that brakes should last much longer than 39,000 miles, even 48,000 miles? And perhaps I’ve insulted someone by suggesting that this is wrong? I commute for an hour on the highway every day, and then on Metra train, and I think I’ll make a bumper-sticker describing that brakes on VW’s acceptably fail at 39,000 miles, ON THE REAR! And then I’ll make a T-Shirt detailing the same, just so every commuter who encounters me on my drive, and on my train ride, and my 15-block downtown Chicago Loop rush-hour walk is forewarned about this nonsense. I’ve been a big fan of VW for many years, and I’ve recommended VW to everyone I know. But, after this travesty, I’ll never own another, and I’ll go out of my way to spread the word…

  2. Fred Johnson says:

    At least you are getting written communication from them. I have been trying to get my new CC repaired since October 26th of last year, and still don’t have the first piece of paper from the dealer to document the problems. They have said that the paperwork won’t be given to me until the repair ticket is closed out. Meanwhile, I informed the dealer on December 28th that after being without the car for over 31 days so far and still not being any closer to a satisfactory repair, that I do not want to keep the car and am invoking my rights under the lemon law. Since that time we have been waiting to hear from the VW Regional Representative for a ruling. But still no paperwork. This is no way to run a company!

  3. Peter Johnson says:

    As an update, after an email to the VW CEO, Katherine Fox contacted me. After speaking with her, she offered to have the problem fixed. Unfortunately, by that time I had found it necessary to have my brakes repaired on my own dollar to avoid additional damage to the braking mechanisms, rotors, etc. Katie asked me how much I spent, and sent me a service voucher that more than covers my expenses. Way to go VW! Thank you for stepping-in and doing for me what the dealer wouldn’t. I was surprised after having been treated like royalty by this dealer in ever other situation that they’d resist in this instance. But VW’s new corporate leadership, and excellent assistance by Katie Fox is what made the difference to keep me as a satisfied customer. Now I won’t have any reason not to consider VW for my next purchase.

Leave a comment